Review – Death and a Pot of Chowder by Cornelia Kidd

37648675

Synopsis:
Maine’s Quarry Island has a tight-knit community that’s built on a rock-solid foundation of family, tradition and hard work. But even on this small island, where everyone knows their neighbors, there are secrets that no one would dare to whisper.

Anna Winslow, her husband Burt and their teenage son have deep roots on Quarry Island. Burt and his brother, Carl, are lobstermen, just like their father and grandfather before them. And while some things on the island never seem to change, Anna’s life is about to take some drastically unexpected turns. First, Anna discovers that she has a younger sister, Izzie Jordan. Then, on the day she drives to Portland to meet Izzie for the first time, Carl’s lobster boat is found abandoned and adrift. Later that evening, his corpse is discovered—but he didn’t drown.

Whether it was an accident or murder, Carl’s sudden death has plunged Anna’s existence into deadly waters. Despite barely knowing one another and coming from very different backgrounds, Anna and Izzie unite to find the killer. With their family in crisis, the sisters strive to uncover the secrets hidden in Quarry Island—and, perhaps, the ones buried within their own hearts.

Sure to be an intoxicating read for fans of Sarah Graves and Leslie Meier, Death and a Pot of Chowder is the first Maine Murder mystery by Cornelia Kidd.

My Review:
3 out of 5 stars

I have a lot of mixed feelings about this book.

Unfortunately it took me a lot longer to read this book than it normally takes me. I didn’t read the blurb before going into this book so there was an interesting twist at the beginning of the story that captured my interest. Things just moved very slowly though and I found myself losing interest pretty quickly. I kept putting the book down and coming back to it later. I wasn’t able to stay focused on the story. It seemed like there were just so many conversations about things that didn’t really matter at the time or weren’t important to the story.

There were also a couple characters that just didn’t mesh well with me. I found it hard to like Burt at first. I thought he was a little too harsh when talking about Izzie. Anna’s mom made a few harsh comments as well that I thought weren’t very deserving. As a parent, I found Jake’s behavior to be a little appalling at times. There is no way I would let my son get away with some of the things that Jake did without any consequences. I understand that Jake is a teenager and they are going to act out and do things they aren’t supposed to, but it just didn’t feel right that he didn’t have any consequences for any of his actions at all. Like I said.. as a parent myself (to a child that is close to that age), it just didn’t sit right with me.

There really wasn’t any real sleuthing happening either until the last part of the book. Once all of the suspects started being thrown around and Anna and Izzie were trying to (actively) figure out who killed Carl, I became more interested and invested in the story. Once the sleuthing picked up and the mystery behind the murder started to come together, I sped through the book and finished it pretty quickly.

I felt really bad for Anna and Burt by the end of the story. This story just goes to show that people aren’t always who they seem to be and that can be hard to accept sometimes. Another character I had a lot of sympathy for was Dolan. He didn’t deserve what happened to him at all. I did really enjoy the relationship that Anna and Izzie formed throughout the book. I am glad that the two of them have each other. They have a promising future ahead of them.

I enjoyed the different kinds of food that were discussed in this book and looked over the recipes at the back of the book as well. They all sounded good. I may give one of them a try sometime.

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. 

2 thoughts on “Review – Death and a Pot of Chowder by Cornelia Kidd

Leave a Reply