Book Review – The Rumor by Lesley Kara

43168384

Synopsis
A single mom discovers just how deadly gossip can be in this irresistible debut thriller inspired by a sensational true crime story, for fans of Big Little Lies, The Couple Next Door, and The Widow.

Joanna is desperate to ingratiate herself with a popular clique of mothers at her son’s new school. But when she tries to impress them by repeating a rumor she overheard at the school gates, there’s no going back. . . .

Rumor has it that a notorious killer, a woman who has been released from prison years after her brutal crime, is living under a new identity in Joanna’s seaside town. So who is the supposedly reformed murderer now living in their neighborhood? Suspicion falls on everyone.

Joanna becomes obsessed with the case, pawing through decades-old records in an attempt to name the killer. But her curiosity not only ostracizes her from the community, but exposes her son and his father to a heartless psychopath who has killed–and may kill again.

How dangerous can one rumor become? And now far will Joanna go to protect those she loves from harm, when she realizes what she’s unleashed?

Joanna is going to regret the day she ever said a word. . . .

 

My Review
3 out of 5 stars
3stars

This book is super hyped right now and I have a serious case of FOMO, so I grabbed this book at the first opportunity. I enjoyed the second half of this book much more than I did the first half. During the first half of this book, I seriously considered DNFing it several times. I know a lot of people love this book though, so I forced myself to continue, hoping it would get better.

During the first half of the book, we were introduced to so many characters I started to have a hard time remembering who was who. Even now, after I’ve finished the book, they all just seemed to blend together. No one, apart from Joanna and her family, really stood out to me. I also kept wondering if this book was set in the US or in the UK. Some of the phrases used in the story made that difficult to decide. There were places in the US that were mentioned, but the way things were worded made it feel like it was set in the UK. I was frequently distracted and pulled out of the story because of that.

The second half of the book is where things were starting to come together. The suspense was building and I was desperate to know who Sally McGowan really was. I suspected a couple different people, but the reveal absolutely blew my mind! I was not expecting that at all. I give huge props for that twist because it blindsided me.

All in all, this was just an okay book to me. My frustrations with the beginning of the book took away some of my enjoyment from the second half

2 thoughts on “Book Review – The Rumor by Lesley Kara

Leave a Reply